Travel Post

OMG OMG OMG!!!

This is extremely important….

THEY ARE HERE! THEY’VE ARRIVED, IT’S TIME!!!

BRUSSELS SPROUTS ARE IN SEASON AND IN THE SUPERMARKET!!!

13384863_10154125689641760_908858909_nI’ve been waiting patiently and today, I was rewarded. Brussels sprouts are one of my absolute favorite veggies of all time and in our little town of Castro, Chile, you never see things if they aren’t in season. So I had to wait for what felt like FOREVER! I totally screamed and jumped up and down when I saw them in the produce area. I’m sorry (not really lol), I was greedy. I cleaned em out. I will eat them all (well, Seb can have a few haha).13413921_10154125689491760_1206225299_n

Have you ever had them in a salad? Drooooool! How about roasted in the oven? They take on this nutty, yet horse radishy deliciousness and if you haven’t had them roasted, you need to stop what you are doing and try them in the oven. My hubby knows how much I love them and he has planned a whole meal which is centered on these mini bites of goodness. He’s going to saute them with smoked sausage and toasted almonds, a play on another traditional preparation which uses pancetta and almonds. Oh and we’ll also have some sort of roasted meat and potatoes, blah blah blah. Hahaha.

I think brussels sprouts get a bad rep…as a child, I thought I hated them, but I think I knocked em before I tried em. Kids are supposed to hate brussels sprouts, right? Also, I had no idea they were brusselS sprouts, not brussel sprouts. They are super good for you too! I just looked it up…these tiny cabbages things have like 140% of your daily vitamin C requirements in a serving and a bunch of dietary fiber too! Woop!

Today is definitely a good day!

Saludos!!!

Sarah

One thought on “OMG OMG OMG!!!

Leave a Reply

